It is the third Orientation of the month, with two more to go.

Every week, the children will be in the classroom, doing the things preppies should. As for the parents, we will be having morning tea with lots of delicious cakes brought in by the committee. The main purpose to be in there is also to get familiarized with other parents and teachers, as well as teachers and committee members of groups such as class reps, before and after hours school care, PFA (parents and friends association), fundraising, canteen, uniform shop, etc. We are encouraged to volunteer in any way we can to get the community-based primary school running effectively.

Today, I seem to know more people, greeted by and greeting along the way. There is this mum who also works part-time where I workout, another mum I know who owns a noodle shop opposite where I work, and surprise, surprise, I saw a mum who was my friend’s classmate, who has two sons in the school, the younger one attending prep together with Aidan!

But the best thing is, every parent is made to feel very welcomed, and well informed. Today, the prep teacher gave us an insight of what she does, how the hours are run, day in, day out. She explained in such a way that made me feel so, so, so relieved that I have chosen the right school. No one student is the same. Some are faster learners, interested in books and numbers, others won’t even go near it. Everything she said made so much sense, and she sounded so passionate about her job. She was the one who visited us at the early intervention centre a few weeks ago.

If I was satisfied with the school, now I am even more impressed. I like the idea of a small school, about almost three hundred children. It just gives me the sense of security, eg. extra attention given to each and every child, close knitted community, easier to talk with teachers and they always have the time for us. We are not even officially there yet and they already know us by names!

And as for Aidan, he is settling in very well. No more fuss about going to Prep. And oh, by the way, the little rascal thought that was it for the day, so when I told him that he would be going to kinder later in the afternoon, he said No school mama. Go prep. No going school Mama.

Kakakakka!!! Never thought he would think that way!